Absolute IMU compass, gyro and accelerometer
 Software and Programming Related   Started by Demarcoo S   2015-09-11 11:47:54 -04:00   Comments: 13    Viewed: 1794

1. Demarcoo S
    Demarcoo S Member

Postby demarco » Sat Nov 24, 2012 2:11 pm

I just bought the absolute IMU and i guess its kind of a new sensor right ? I cant find a discussion , a topic or any experience on the net in a way i could learn more . I really want o try it with a segway, but since im new to robotics im just trying to program with the compass, to learn more about the axis programing.
    If anyone could help me , first question is : i made the segway robot, installed extra weels so it could be upright by itself (no gyro for now), installed the sensor on port 1 and want to make a program for the robot to go along a square pathway. For that i made a loop and defined a numerical variable called OBJECTIVE that marks the final degree (starts as 90 degrees). Theres a switch that turns the robot in 1 degree steps for one way or the other if the current orientation is more or less than the OBJECTIVE value. Once it reaches the OBJECTIVE value, it walks for 2 seconds and the OBJECTIVE value is increased 90 degrees, unless its biger than 359, when its attributed the value zero.
    The problem is i am not sure wich value should i be reading on the sensor ? its magnetic field ? its orientation ? I have put the value on the display and it does not goes from 0 to 360. It gets negative too (like -240) ? Please help, i tryied the documentation but found it very poor. Im clueless
    Demarcoo S, 2015-09-11 11:47:54 -04:00
  2. Mindsensors Support
    Mindsensors Support Member Richmond
    Postby support » Sat Nov 24, 2012 6:40 pm
    You should read Gyro values, (there are three of them, x, y, z), choose the appropriate axis based on how you mounted the Gyro.
    The values could print negative if the variable data type is signed byte (or short) such variables will roll-over when